top of page
  • Writer's picturealliedplus

Rail Station ll - The Structure


It has to be said that until I found the visual coding language Dynamo I had no idea how I could tackle this challenge. I knew how mathematically how to start calculating it however I did not know how to start designing it. Way back in the beginning I didn´t even know there was a coding element for Revit I was hesitant, but it definitely paid off in the end as that was a powerful discovery it is so versatile and practical.


Expressing myself in a New Language - Dynamo

Dynamo is a visual coding language. That means that for the most part, you connect various parts of code together in different orders to get wildly varying results depending on how you connect them and the order. You can still create your own definitions and call them as a function in another code which I learned recently which is like broadcasting within Rhino´s Grasshopper or Catia Design.


I watched some tutorials without much hope but soon found that there were code snippets that could be combined in a different variation to get to roughly what I needed for my roof structure. After some time of discovery and researching the scripts I came up with the code below which initially used references in order to determine where to place the supports, how far apart they should be and what type of support and thickness or width it should be depending on the purpose.


The following script though messy and not as intricate as one expects was able to create the structure which perfectly follows the contours of the geometry created in part I. The following various pictures demonstrate the complexity and depth of richness that this simple script has the profound capability to produce.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page